vi. Structure

This book is divided into the following parts.

Part I - Introduction

Part I explains a few important notes on how to proceed with the Cross-LFS installation. This section also provides meta-information about the book.

Part II - Preparing for the Build

Part II describes how to prepare for the building process—making a partition and downloading the packages.

Part III - Make the Cross-Compile Tools

Part III shows you how to make a set of Cross-Compiler tools. These tools can run on your host system but allow you to build packages that will run on your target system.

Part IV - Building the Basic Tools

Part IV explains how to build a tool chain designed to operate on your target system. These are the tools that will allow you to build a working system on your target computer.

Part V - Building the CLFS System

Part V guides the reader through the building of the CLFS system—compiling and installing all the packages one by one, setting up the boot scripts, and installing the kernel. The resulting Linux system is the foundation on which other software can be built to expand the system as desired. At the end of this book, there is an easy to use reference listing all of the programs, libraries, and important files that have been installed.


The appendices contain information that doesn't really fit anywhere else in the book. Appendix A contains definitions of acronyms and terms used in the book; Appendices B and C have information about package dependencies and the build order. Some architectures may have additional appendices for arch-specific issues.